Worldwide, weighted to the United States.
Cybersecurity
10 POINTS
CISA added three actively exploited flaws to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog and gave federal civilian agencies until September 12 to patch them. The most severe, CVE-2026-20079, is a maximum-severity CVSS 10.0 authentication bypass in Cisco Secure Firewall Management Center that lets an unauthenticated remote attacker execute script files and obtain root access; Cisco says exploitation began in August. The other two are CVE-2026-19490, a CVSS 9.3 authentication bypass in Citrix NetScaler ADC and Gateway, and CVE-2025-25249, a CVSS 7.3 buffer overflow in Fortinet FortiOS.
The Hacker News · September 11, 2026
Why it matters: A maximum-severity, unauthenticated root-access bug in the software that manages Cisco's own firewalls is as close to a worst case as network security gets, and the short federal patch deadline signals CISA already sees exploitation beyond the disclosures it can name.
Watchpoint: CISA's deadline binds only federal civilian agencies, not the private-sector hospitals, utilities and enterprises running the same Cisco, Citrix and Fortinet products, who face no compliance deadline at all.
- CISA's Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog lists flaws with confirmed real-world exploitation, distinct from vulnerabilities that are merely disclosed.
- Three vulnerabilities were added this week, spanning Cisco, Citrix and Fortinet products.
- CVE-2026-20079 affects Cisco Secure Firewall Management Center and carries the maximum CVSS score of 10.0.
- It is an authentication bypass that lets a remote, unauthenticated attacker execute script files on the device.
- Successful exploitation can grant the attacker root access to the firewall management system itself.
- Cisco says it first became aware of active exploitation attempts against the flaw in August 2026.
- CVE-2026-19490, scored CVSS 9.3, is an authentication bypass in Citrix NetScaler ADC and NetScaler Gateway.
- It applies when the NetScaler appliance is configured as an AAA virtual server or as an SSL VPN or RDP proxy gateway.
- CVE-2025-25249, scored CVSS 7.3, is a heap-based buffer overflow in Fortinet FortiOS, FortiSwitchManager and FortiSASE.
- Federal civilian agencies must patch all three by September 12, 2026 under CISA's binding operational directive.
10-point recap written from the linked reporting. The article itself is the source.
Cybersecurity
9 POINTS
CISA added two MikroTik RouterOS vulnerabilities to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog based on evidence of active exploitation: CVE-2026-67277, a missing-authentication flaw in a critical function, and CVE-2026-86060, which lets an attacker improperly manipulate command-line argument delimiters to run unintended commands. MikroTik routers are widely deployed by small businesses and internet providers, which has historically made them an attractive target for botnet recruitment once a working exploit chain for an internet-facing management flaw becomes public.
CISA · September 10, 2026
Why it matters: Unauthenticated router bugs are a favorite building block for botnets, and MikroTik's install base among small ISPs and businesses means patch adoption is typically far slower than at large enterprises.
Watchpoint: CISA's alert does not disclose which threat actors are behind the observed exploitation or how many devices have already been compromised, leaving defenders to judge their own exposure without that context.
- MikroTik makes networking hardware and RouterOS, the operating system running on its routers.
- CISA added two RouterOS vulnerabilities to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog this week.
- CVE-2026-67277 is described as a missing-authentication-for-critical-function vulnerability.
- That class of flaw lets an attacker reach a sensitive function without first proving who they are.
- CVE-2026-86060 involves improper handling of command argument delimiters, letting an attacker inject unintended commands.
- CISA's addition to the KEV catalog is based on confirmed evidence of active exploitation in the wild.
- MikroTik devices are widely used by small internet service providers and small businesses.
- That install base has historically made MikroTik routers an attractive target for botnet recruitment.
- CISA's alert does not name the threat actors behind the exploitation it observed.
9-point recap written from the linked reporting. The article itself is the source.
Cybersecurity
9 POINTS
Microsoft's September Patch Tuesday addressed nearly 1,000 vulnerabilities across its products, one of the largest single releases the company has shipped, including two flaws CISA confirms are being actively exploited. CVE-2026-81963 is an elevation-of-privilege bug in the Windows Update Stack that lets an attacker who already has some access reach SYSTEM-level privileges; CVE-2026-85880 is a similar elevation-of-privilege flaw in the Windows Advanced Local Procedure Call component. Both carry a CVSS score of 7.8 and were exploited as zero-days before Microsoft's patch shipped.
BleepingComputer / SecurityWeek · September 8, 2026
Why it matters: Elevation-of-privilege zero-days are the second stage of most real intrusions, turning a foothold gained through phishing or a separate exploit into full control of the machine, so unpatched systems remain exposed even if the initial entry point is closed.
Watchpoint: Neither Microsoft nor CISA has disclosed how widely either zero-day was exploited before patching, so organizations have no way to judge from the advisory alone whether they were already targeted.
- Microsoft's September 2026 Patch Tuesday fixed close to 1,000 vulnerabilities, among the largest monthly totals it has shipped.
- Vulnerability counts from different security vendors range from about 966 to 974, reflecting different counting methodologies for the same release.
- Two of the fixed flaws were already being exploited as zero-days before patches were available.
- CVE-2026-81963 is an elevation-of-privilege vulnerability in the Windows Update Stack.
- Exploiting it lets an attacker who already has limited access escalate to SYSTEM-level privileges.
- CVE-2026-85880 is a separate elevation-of-privilege flaw in the Windows Advanced Local Procedure Call component.
- Both zero-days carry a CVSS score of 7.8, rated Important rather than Critical.
- CISA confirmed active exploitation of both flaws, prompting federal patch deadlines.
- Elevation-of-privilege bugs are typically used as a second stage after an attacker has already gained initial, limited access.
9-point recap written from the linked reporting. The article itself is the source.
Cybersecurity
10 POINTS
Security researchers at Kinryū Labs found an Advance Passenger Information System database exposed to the open internet, holding more than 220 million passenger and crew records spanning January 2017 to April 2026. The exposed Elasticsearch cluster held 210.3 million passenger records and 10.5 million crew records, including names, dates of birth, nationalities and passport numbers, reachable only after researchers chained two separate misconfigurations to bypass an initial authentication wall. Investigators traced the server to an IP range assigned to Viettel, a Vietnamese telecommunications provider.
BleepingComputer · September 8, 2026
Why it matters: Nine years of unencrypted passport and travel data sitting behind a chain of misconfigured cloud settings, rather than a single obvious hole, shows how a database can look secured on a surface scan while remaining fully exposed underneath.
Watchpoint: Neither Viettel nor any government authority has publicly confirmed ownership of the exposed system or notified the affected travelers, so nobody named in the 220 million records has been formally told.
- An Advance Passenger Information System database was found exposed to the open internet by researchers at Kinryū Labs.
- The exposed cluster used Elasticsearch, a database system commonly used for large-scale search and analytics.
- It held 210,318,069 passenger records and 10,465,631 crew records, a combined total above 220 million.
- Exposed fields included names, dates of birth, sex, nationality, and passport or travel-document numbers and expiration dates.
- The records span flights from January 2017 through April 2026, covering nine years of travel data.
- Researchers reached the database by chaining two separate security misconfigurations rather than exploiting one obvious flaw.
- The first layer initially returned an HTTP 401 Unauthorized response, blocking direct access from the open internet.
- A second, cloud-based access path bypassed that block and reached a cluster still using default credentials.
- Investigators traced the server's IP address to a range assigned to Viettel, a Hanoi-based telecommunications provider.
- No government authority or company has publicly confirmed ownership of the database as of this report.
10-point recap written from the linked reporting. The article itself is the source.
Cybersecurity
10 POINTS
Online math learning platform Mathspace disclosed that attackers accessed data on 1,079,819 students, staff and parents in Australia and New Zealand by exploiting a critical SQL injection zero-day in its self-hosted Metabase reporting tool. The vulnerability, tracked as CVE-2026-72898 and scored CVSS 10, was patched by Metabase on August 6, but Mathspace did not upgrade its instance until August 29, more than three weeks later, and attackers had already accessed the system on August 10 and downloaded data on August 27. Exposed data included names, usernames and email addresses; Mathspace says no passwords or academic records were taken.
BleepingComputer / Help Net Security · September 8, 2026
Why it matters: A patch that exists for three weeks before a company applies it is not a sophisticated attack, it is a routine gap in patch management, and it is the same failure mode that turns a fixable bug into a headline breach again and again.
Watchpoint: Mathspace has not said why its own instance sat unpatched for three weeks after Metabase flagged the flaw as critical, which is the operational question that actually determines whether this happens again.
- Mathspace is an online mathematics learning platform used by schools in Australia and New Zealand.
- The breach affected 1,079,819 students, staff and parents, all located in Australia and New Zealand.
- Attackers exploited a vulnerability in Metabase, a self-hosted business intelligence and reporting tool Mathspace used internally.
- The flaw, CVE-2026-72898, was an SQL injection vulnerability that received the maximum CVSS score of 10.
- Metabase's developers patched the vulnerability on August 6, before Mathspace's systems were actually compromised.
- Unauthorized access to Mathspace's reporting system was first identified as having begun on August 10.
- Attackers downloaded data from the Australian reporting database on August 27, three weeks after the patch was available.
- Mathspace did not upgrade its own Metabase instance until August 29, after the download had already occurred.
- Exposed data included names, usernames, email addresses and account metadata, not passwords or academic records.
- Mathspace says no records linking user accounts to specific schools were included in the exposed data.
10-point recap written from the linked reporting. The article itself is the source.
Cybersecurity
9 POINTS
Identity-verification company IDScan.net confirmed a breach after KrebsOnSecurity reported that a new dark web service was selling digital scans of more than 153 million U.S. and Canadian driver's licenses, along with 10 million ID cards, 3 million travel documents and 579,000 medical cards. Krebs traced the trove to IDScan's identity-verification technology, which businesses use to scan and authenticate government-issued IDs; the FBI's New Orleans field office has opened an investigation. Buyers of the service can search by name and pull up a person's license photo and details.
TechCrunch · September 10, 2026
Why it matters: An identity-verification company is supposed to be the safeguard that stops fraud, so a breach of the verification layer itself undermines the trust that every business relying on IDScan's technology has been building on.
Watchpoint: IDScan has not disclosed how long the exposed data sat accessible before Krebs found the dark web listing, so the true window during which buyers could have already purchased and used the data is unknown.
- IDScan.net is an identity-verification company whose technology businesses use to scan and authenticate government-issued IDs.
- KrebsOnSecurity first reported the breach after being alerted to a new dark web identity-theft service.
- The service advertised digital scans of more than 153 million U.S. and Canadian driver's licenses.
- It also included 10 million ID cards, 3 million travel documents and 579,000 medical cards.
- Buyers of the service could search the database by name to retrieve a person's license photo and personal details.
- Krebs traced the data trove back to IDScan's identity-verification technology and infrastructure.
- IDScan.net has since confirmed that it experienced a data breach, according to TechCrunch's reporting.
- The FBI's New Orleans field office has opened a formal investigation into the apparent breach.
- The incident is separate from, but similar in scale to, other 2026 identity-document breaches reported this year.
9-point recap written from the linked reporting. The article itself is the source.
Cybersecurity
9 POINTS
Hardware wallet maker Trezor warned customers that phishing emails targeting 347,000 addresses went out starting September 9, after attackers breached Brevo, the third-party marketing platform Trezor uses to send newsletters. Trezor says roughly 2,500 recipients clicked the embedded malicious link in the phishing emails, which impersonated Trezor and attempted to trick recipients into entering their wallet recovery seed phrase. The Brevo breach is separate from an earlier incident this year in which Trezor's shipping partner ShipMonk exposed data on 81,000 customers.
BleepingComputer / SecurityWeek · September 9, 2026
Why it matters: A cryptocurrency hardware wallet's entire security model depends on the recovery seed phrase never being typed into a website, so a phishing campaign built to harvest exactly that phrase targets the one thing Trezor's own hardware cannot protect against.
Watchpoint: Trezor has not disclosed how many of the 2,500 people who clicked the link went on to actually enter a seed phrase or lose funds, so the real financial impact of the campaign is still unknown.
- Trezor is a maker of hardware cryptocurrency wallets used to store private keys offline.
- Attackers breached Brevo, a third-party email marketing platform Trezor uses to send customer newsletters.
- Using data from that breach, attackers sent phishing emails to 347,000 addresses starting September 9.
- The phishing emails impersonated Trezor and attempted to trick recipients into revealing sensitive wallet information.
- Trezor says approximately 2,500 recipients clicked the malicious link embedded in the phishing emails.
- The specific goal of this style of phishing attack is typically to obtain a victim's wallet recovery seed phrase.
- A recovery seed phrase, if obtained by an attacker, gives full access to drain the associated cryptocurrency wallet.
- This incident is separate from an earlier 2026 breach at ShipMonk, Trezor's shipping and logistics provider.
- That earlier ShipMonk breach exposed order data on 81,000 Trezor customers who ordered between May and August 2026.
9-point recap written from the linked reporting. The article itself is the source.